“Slow Burn” (Kacey Musgraves)

It’s been a while since I made time to write, mostly due to a hectic work schedule. A lot has happened since my last blog, and it has taken time to process.

While on vacation I signed up for Influenster and began doing what I enjoy to do – write reviews. I had joined a Facebook Group for Influensters and was told it could take up to 18 months before any VoxBox would be sent to me, but I ended up with one like a couple weeks after I joined, so that was pretty awesome. Although the facial cleanser I was sent isn’t one I would purchase in the future, it was nice to have been able to try it for free and voice my opinion. I hope I get chosen for more things to test and review!

Since return from Utah, we had Panda’s entire immediate family finally in town all in one place and my MIL quickly pulled together a Memorial Service for my FIL (who lost is battle with COVID-19 in February). The most touching of all was that my MIL gave me a Memorial necklace; my FIL had been cremated so that his remains would reside at home with his family, and a part of him had been placed in jewelry that my MIL gave to their children (and me). Family is the most important thing to me, and having that symbol of belonging to Panda’s family despite our not being married lit my heart on fire.

Love in the purest, realest form. My MIL and FIL were together for 41 years ’til death did they part. Their relationship was not perfect, and that is perfectly fine – it was REAL. And my heart aches for my MIL (as well as for my Aunt Cecilia as she had lost her love, my favorite uncle – Harry – just mere months before during the holidays in late 2020).

It is why despite working countless hours during this transition period of trying to get the whole staff safely back to the office, I still make time to be with family (whether blood or otherwise). And that also includes my friends, who are family to me. Finally had the opportunity to hang with my gal pals this past weekend and it really healed a part of my soul that had been aching for connection with like minds.

Icing on the cake was the next day before working on Sunday, I got to enjoy the dim sum experience in its finest with the ‘rents and Panda – ladies pushing the carts and people lining up impatiently to get dim sum rather than politely waiting for the carts to make it to their tables *lol* Thinking about it still puts a smile on my face and I want to do it all over again.

I haven’t been able to work out very much since returning from vacation, but over the weekend we did finally make it back to Planet Fitness, and it was nice to go back and use their machines again. I look forward to popping in again this weekend! (Last real workout before that had been the 2021 Move with Love where I participated by walking and weightlifting in memory of Stella Perez.)

Just tiny things like that, and binge watching Masked Singer with Panda to unwind after long days at work, it is what keeps the balance. So although the weight is a “slow burn”, the Journey to Health – mentally, emotionally and physically – continues to improve slowly, but surely. And that is all I can ask for in these crazy times.

Now to see if I can get some shut eye (or just say “F* it” and get out of bed and continue to chip away at work…

Published by WendyfromCali

Just a Wendy...from Cali...who loves food, wogging, laughter and makeup (yes in that order!)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started