“Saturday Night” (Bay City Rollers)

It’s been a hot minute since I was last inspired to write about what’s been happening in my life. Mostly work taking up the majority of my brain space and being too exhausted to make time to jot down memories about life passing by day after day. Today, however, was noteworthy so I just had to take the time to commemorate my “cherry being popped” for the 626 Night Market (thanks Panda Bear!)

Due to a happy accident, Panda bought two pairs of tickets to the event and decided the ‘rents could come with – apparently Mom’s been dying to go to this for years unbeknownst to us. We (Panda, Dad and I) prepared this morning by not eating and walking 3+ miles.

I took time to do a fun makeup look for the occasion.

We got to the 626 Night Market a little bit before 4:00 p.m. which is opening time. Line to get in wasn’t bad at all. Our game plan was to hit up as many of the food vendors we wanted eats and drinks from as soon as possible to avoid the long lines that were definitely going to come in the later hours. And we were quite successful!

The Bombing Squid was our first destination of choice given how popular it was from folks that had previously visited the 626 Night Market. $17.00 (cash only) for a fried squid bigger than the size of my face. Chose garlic flavored and it was fantastic!

Panda Bear came back with a strawberry watermelon drink from one of the booths near Flavor Fusions, which was the original destination but was not yet open. We devoured that squid and it was extra messy but absolutely delicious so it didn’t matter. As the ‘rents continued eating the squid, Panda Bear and I headed to The Onion Bomb for the Lobster Cheese Onion Bomb. Next door at Friedays they were selling drinks and I just had to try the passionfruit one. Two thumbs up for being refreshing! The Lobster Cheese Onion Bomb was $20.00 and tasty but smaller than I had imagined.

Panda Bear went back to get drinks at Flavor Fusions and I took the Lobster Cheese Onion Bomb to the ‘rents. I freaked out for a moment because when I went back to the benches where we left them last, they weren’t there. Luckily after a bit of walking I found them standing in an area not too far from there. As we devoured the food, Mom wanted to get food from Yakitori Yado (chicken skewers with mochi, 2 for $9.00), and as she went to buy those, Panda called me to ask for help carrying food he bought from Cerda Vega Food Truck. I left my Dad with the drinks from earlier, told him not to move, and ran off to find Panda.

When I got to Flavor Fusions, I couldn’t see Panda anywhere and nor was he at Cerda Vega Food Truck. Again, panic set over me for a brief moment and I called him. He said he brought the drinks to the ‘rents already and was heading back to get the food (Tacos Dorados and Birria Ramen). Since I was already near Ridges Churro Bar and the line was short, I decided to get the Strawberry Shortcake Churro Sundae ($9.00 limited availability and lucky it was early – tipped them $1.00 from my change). When our party was all back together, we all took turns eating and drinking.

By then it was nearly 5:30 p.m. Panda decided to go figure out where Alejandro Aranda was going to be performing at 6:00 p.m. He went off searching and when he found the place, called me and we met up to situate ourselves for the show. Alejandro only performed three songs, and we thoroughly enjoyed them all!

After the show, I pleaded to get my last desserts from Drunken Cake Pops and Panda handed over cash and I made a beeline through the crowd to the booth. I was super lucky; despite the thickening crowd, the line was not too bad yet at the booth and I easily ordered a Churro Latte with Whiskey Caramel ($6.00 plus $1.00), Southern Gentleman ice cream bar ($6.00), and three Cake Pops at $3.50/pop (Midori, Amaretto and Lemon Drop). Panda had given me just the right amount of cash and I tipped them my change. Of course I hadn’t realized the ice cream pop would completely melt by the time we walked back to the car to leave. When I went to eat it, the melted ice cream splattered all over my shirt like the bird that had pooped on my last week on our weekend walk LOL Panda Bear and the ‘rents had a good laugh over that one! Good thing we were already headed home at that point. I showered when I got home and then finished off the cake pops, which were amazeballs!

@drunkencakepops OMG took these babies home to eat with a tall glass of milk, and they’re heavenly! Moist, packed full of flavor, and the hint of booze – perfection. Cannot decide which of them I love most. L to R: Midori, Amaretto and Lemon Drop. First time customer, definitely not the last – fangirling right now 🤤 https://www.instagram.com/p/CRdFl8fB69u/?utm_medium=share_sheet

I hadn’t posted so much on social media in a long while, so it was nice to have things to post about!

Despite all the indulgence, still didn’t do too poorly today when it came to calories in versus calories out.

Overall, what a wonderful change from the monotony life has been due to the pandemic. We shall see what the damage is tomorrow when I weigh in. For now, I’ll bask in the glorious feeling of having spent a wonderful evening with my loved ones chowing down on memorable eats. This is the life.

Published by WendyfromCali

Just a Wendy...from Cali...who loves food, wogging, laughter and makeup (yes in that order!)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started